Dualbooting Mac OS X/Snow Leopard?

Discussion in 'General Apple Chat' started by Coca Cola, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. Coca Cola

    Coca Cola Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Hey, So I really like Mac OS X over Windows products. So Me and my brother share a PC. I like Mac OS X/Snow Leopard and he likes Windows 7. So I told him we can dual boot and make Windows 7 as the main OS. So we agree on that. But there's one problem. I don't know if I have the correct specs and I don't know how to do this... My specifications are: http://www.emachines.com/products/products.html?prod=ET1161-05. It's a Pc. So help me out here :d Thanks.
  2. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    some tips
    1st go to emfire efi site, they have developed the easiest way to dual boot snow leopard on a pc

    ok

    with that build you have in mind
    NOT GONNA HAPPEN

    leopard dropped support for nvidia 6000 series and snow leopard dropped support for 7000 series

    If you wanna built an osx 86 machine

    your best bet is to built an intel machine, amd have some patches here and there but in the it is much more complicated, and there in NO guarate that it will work properly or that it would work at all


    so you should either get an

    processor: intel core 2 duo, or quad core, or intel i7 cpu

    gpu: either nvidia 8800 series or 9800 series both work just fine 200tx series seem to work fine now also

    you are going to need usb keyboards and mouse

    you are going to need to do some serious research
  3. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    There's a problem with the Empire EFI thing, it needs a retail snow leopard DVD

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    And you need an Intel processor although AMD is experimental (risky :/ ). Just use iAtkos v7, and go to InsanelyMac because that's where you should ask.
  4. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    That why i warned him about the amd processors thing, he should get an Intel system to make sure everything works out

    either a core 2 duo, core 2 quad, or i7/i5

    I recommended empire efi, because is the most NOOB friendly osx 86 installer to date, because by looking at his specs looks like he is kind of new to the osx 86 scene

    and the retail snoe leopard dvd in not biggie, it works just fine with the 29$ upgrade disk

    and yeah go to InsanelyMac
    ps: big research is waiting for you, if you wanna pull this sh*t out
  5. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yeah, the distros are hard to get working sometimes. I spent days one time haha.
  6. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    I have spent more than days. Especially working on AMD machines

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    Oh, when it comes to AMD I spent like a week and it never got installed properly

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    No boot lol.

Share This Page