Dual Boot....Yes or No?

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by gojohnnyboi, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    Well, you see i jailbroke 1.1.4 a while back....duh....and i came across the dev teams method for dual booting your ipod with 2 firmwares....


    Does this really work for ipod touch? and if i did do it, and something went wrong, could i set all the crap back to normal with a restore in iTunes? Please help somebody with dual boot or knowledge of this
  2. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I tried dual booting my ipod and well i never wanna do it again, it didnt work for and took me about an hour to get it to restore, had so many errors and i had to put it in DFU mode alot but it ended up restoring, go ahead try it and if you get to work post a guide...
  3. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Wait for a GUI version of Dual Booting, where it does it for you.

    Also, wait for it to be safer to do.
    1 person likes this.
  4. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yes, it works and it's safe; there's nothing you can do to the bootloader of an iPod that will "brick" it.
    I wouldn't recommend it right now though, as it has no real use.
  5. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well, when I did it, I was able to boot into the seperate partition successfully and stuff. I had 1.1.1 on both of them, but, for example, I was just testing it, and I had some apps on one partition and some apps on the other.
    But then when I installed the Jiggy Runtime script that let you easily switch between the two partitions, I accidentally hit disk0s2 instead of disk0s1, which had nothing installed on it. So basically, I had a hard time booting my iPod again.

    Tyr0 has successfully booted into 1.1.4 and 1.1.1 at the same time, but you have to PM him to learn more about it.

    If you do it, just be careful to tap the right partition. xD
  6. Khaos

    Khaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    127
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    What guide did you use?
  7. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well, the only one that i am aware of on these forums.

    Tyr0 posted it.
  8. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Or use iPHUC or nvram to change your boot partitions, not some crappy Jiggy script.
  9. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well, lets just say that I'm not that smart and I'm pretty inexperienced at this stuff, and have basically no coding knowledge. =\
    So I wouldn't know how to do that unless someone told me.
  10. hyperforcegoku

    hyperforcegoku New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you wanna do it up to you. But if you f*** up waffles and chicken will never come to you.

Share This Page