Dreamweaver Problems

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by fear_2670, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i'm working with Dreamweaver to make my self a BETTER website, now i go and paste my old notepad code which works perfectly on the browser into dreamweaver, it identifies everything but my images, anyone what's going.

    Dreamweaver is useless to me without images.
  2. fckinfamous

    fckinfamous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Try importing the pictures.
  3. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    That works, but i can't move them or put them on the web browser, it's pointless.
  4. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Ok, quick question about the image paths.

    Was teh handwritten(notepad) site ever up on the net. Cuase if it was and your image paths are in there as you had them on your webspace then it wont find them.

    Lets say you have a line like [img src="images/name.jpg] where this would normaly point to the location of the image you are trying to show.

    What you need is to have a "images" folder with this file in it saved to the same place you are currently saving the websites .html file. So basicaly you will have one folder for this whole site while you work on it in dreamweaver. Put all you sub folders, files and page files in there. Build your sites code, then when your done move all the contents of that main folder onto your webspace. This should make it look just like it did on your PC while you were building it.

    Also make sure you are working in Dreamweaver under the code tab.
    Then if you want to move them around, you will have to swap over to the other tab. Its the layout tab or something. I forget?
  5. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, ill try that, but when i export the HTML file, what'll happen to the image locations?
  6. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Ok, i though i may have made that a little hard, let me try and reword that.

    Make a folder called my webpage on your PC.
    Save all your website stuff in it. Like all the HTML files, any other page software you pla on using, and all the image files. Now you may want to have sub folders to hold your images and what not.

    So like i said, if image "X" is i the "images folder". The code to show it will read. <img src="images/x.jpg" />.

    So, if you build the whole thing like this. When you are done, all you need to do is take everything from the "My Website" folder and copy it up to your domain space. Copying everything will make sure that you wont have to change the code if you move the site around.
  7. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    COOL, but what happens to my image links???
  8. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    If you do everything correctly nothing should happen.
  9. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    SWEET, gonna go work on it some, cause my position isn't very good with the old method.

    EDIT: It's a little tricky, so ill stick with notepad for now

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page