iOS 4.0 Downgrading...

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by thechicken, Aug 11, 2010.

  1. thechicken

    thechicken Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    DOWNGRADING

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    I tried to downgrade to 3.1.3 on my ipod 8gb mc model and I was on 3.1.3 and on Cydia it claimed it had my blobs backed up and ready for 4.0, but now i can't seem to restore to 3.1.3. And i do have my hosts file edited.
  2. rykah

    rykah Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apple isn't going to let you. For some reason, even with editted host files it won't do it. :/

    I would look for a reliable jerryrigging somewhere on the net.
  3. thechicken

    thechicken Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Did Cydia lie to me then? or what?
  4. rykah

    rykah Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. Cydia saves the MAJOR part-- the shsh blobs. Without them, you wouldn't be able to even consider downgrading.

    But just because it's possible doesn't mean it's easy.
  5. LH08WDC

    LH08WDC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Did it say SHSHs saved for 3.1.3 or 4.0?
  6. thechicken

    thechicken Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    No, I meant while i was ON 3.1.3 cydia said it saved my blobs, and now on 4.0 it won't let me downgrade.
  7. rykah

    rykah Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm aware. You need two things for a downgrade:

    - The SHSH blobs
    - Some way to do it

    Cydia handled the first one, so it's up to you to handle the second.
  8. LH08WDC

    LH08WDC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Ah I understand. Is the machine you're using to downgrade a 64 bit machine?
  9. rykah

    rykah Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...oh crap. That might be why I couldn't do it when I tried, I have Windows 7 x64.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. thechicken

    thechicken Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    No i'm on Windows 7 32 bit

Share This Page