Does Yahoo Mail now work the update?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by espy, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. espy

    espy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even with jailbroken iPod Touches, the mail.app didn't work with Yahoo mail. People seem to suspect it requires the initial connection be done through a cellular data network and not through WiFi. Does it work now?

    I thought it might but my 1.1.2 mail.app still doesn't let me add my Yahoo mail account.
  2. truthstar

    truthstar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    To use Yahoo Mail you must pay for POP access through Yahoo. It's complete sh*t that Apple would put people under the impression that you could use Yahoo mail for free and not mention you have to pay to access it from your phone/ipod.
  3. espy

    espy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    iPhone users don't have to pay for POP access because Yahoo has a special agreement with Apple for iPhone users. Since the iPod Touch did not have the Mail.app originally it made sense for Yahoo Mail not to work on the iPod Touch.
  4. owie007

    owie007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    hu? mail didn't worl on the ipod touch? i doubt it, i have been using yahoo and mail on my ipod touch 1.1.1/1.1.2... and now on 1.1.3 without any problems! worked like a charm!
  5. espy

    espy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sigh.

    Mail.app does work on the iPod Touch. Non-American Yahoo email addresses have free POP access, including yahoo.co.uk addresses which is what I'm assuming you're using.

    yahoo.com addresses can only be accessed on an iPod Touch through Safari which is not what I'm interested in doing.
  6. owie007

    owie007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    yep... i'm on .co.uk
    so the .com has a charge? WTF?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. cipriani14

    cipriani14 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just set up my FREE Yahoo! account with no problems on 1.1.3 with the purchased apps....works freakin great. I already have my account set up to my BlackBerry but I guess you can never have too much email..right?

    oh and I am in the states with a normal yahoo.com email addy
  8. Chucky102

    Chucky102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,555
    Likes Received:
    66
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    omg
    yes, yahoo mail works great
    i bought the apps, and i can write, view etc all my email..
    and its really cool
  9. Nevermind42592

    Nevermind42592 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yep, I can also confirm the new 1.1.3 software update with mail lets you use Yahoo Mail even if you don't pay for premium. I'm in the US.
  10. ricthar

    ricthar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is one of the first things i did with the new apps, was able to setup with no problem.

Share This Page