Does the maps locate me work in all places?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by mytouch386, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. mytouch386

    mytouch386 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    does it work in all places it says your place can not be determined does it just not work? Or do I live in a place that won't work?
  2. inpala

    inpala New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it doesn't work in all places.
  3. mytouch386

    mytouch386 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    that sucks
  4. Rawd

    Rawd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Weird. Mine hasn't worked since it came out, and I've tried it in tons of places. I just tried it again and it worked! Well somewhat... it located me about a 20min drive away

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. Yakovlev

    Yakovlev Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    maps

    Go to skyhook.com, they're the company that enables this feature, there you'll find a coverage map. It sucks I no, I dont have coverage where I live!
  6. Underdawg

    Underdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont get it....i looked on the skyhook map too...I live in augusta ga, and on the map its got a ton of blue dots, even one on top of my house! BUT, it still cant determine my location.....
  7. Rawd

    Rawd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,192
    Likes Received:
    4
    The app seems finicky. Mine works about 3% of the time.

    You ever get out to see the Masters?
  8. Yakovlev

    Yakovlev Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    if it still doesn't work, u can get ur latitude and longitude, and ur mac adress of ur computer or router, I'm not sure which, then put those in an email and send it skyhook, any theyll add u, it takes up to a week though
  9. kitren2

    kitren2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,383
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Ok the maps app is locate feature is alright. It shows about 5 houses in the blue circle including mine. But a couple times it says I live in kansas in a farm which i don't which is really wierd and i have two houses and my other house doen't have this feature.

Share This Page