Does The "Apple In Ear Headphone + Remote + Mic" Work for Itouch G1?

Discussion in 'iPod touch VoIP and Telephony' started by c0mmun1st4lyf3, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. c0mmun1st4lyf3

    c0mmun1st4lyf3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
  2. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
  3. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Explains it all^
  4. tylobedo

    tylobedo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    explains what explains it all^
  5. reluttr

    reluttr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I would have to say that they DONT work on the gen 1... Because if they did then all the generic iphone mic's would work, which they dont...
  6. Evanmav

    Evanmav New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    does the volume control button work on the ipod touch 1st gens?
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yeahh.... No. See the First Generation anywhere?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. ghost1337

    ghost1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    are there any alternatives to the apple earphones+remote+mic?
    Because 79$ is very much for some earphones...
  9. jofficus

    jofficus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apple Store says different

    I just got home from some shopping, and stopped into my local Apple store, to ask about this. They confirmed that the new headphone/mic set (for $79) WILL work with the G1 iPod Touch. I asked if the mic would work, and the guy said UNPROMPTED "sure, you could use the mic with your iPod. You could do voip, record your voice, or anything."

    I had my iPod with me, and showed him to make sure he knew I had a G1, and then specifically said it was a first gen. He went into the back, and double checked. He came out with another person, who he said was his boss. She also said that, as far as they knew, it was going to work with the G1.

    I guess they could both be wrong, but I certainly hope not . . .
  10. c0mmun1st4lyf3

    c0mmun1st4lyf3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I just called apple... They confirmed that it doesn't work with the 1st generation... I'm still skeptical until it comes out because their reasoning is that the 1st generation doesn't have the hardware needed to handle it.

    Unfortunately we have no idea on what exactly it's missing but we hackers can hack anything so therefore I wouldn't say it's a definite no.
    If we can get it to work even by adding a extra part to the ipod via connection we will...

    But until then I believe we need to still get the old touchmod's mics working.

    P.s: for those who answer the question so bluntly you are just dumb... because it's always good to wonder and question. Here's a question for you people "What do you think causes it to work for the 2ng gen and not the 1st? Tell me that much and I'll admit to being a idiot. You can't because you know nothing about the 2nd generation hardware... so next time you answer a question answer it in a better tone. because being a douche never gets you far.

Share This Page