Does 2.2 cost anything?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by LovesToTouch, Nov 24, 2008.

1. LovesToTouch

LovesToTouch New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Hi, Im new to the Ipod hacking scene im a long time psp, xbox1, and xbox 360 hacker. Im ordering a 1g touch for sale in a few days, and plan on jailbreaking as soon as i get it. Now i was reading around the web on the differences between 1g and 2g and i read you have to pay for 2.1 for the 1g iPod touch, On one of the 1g versus 2g articles. Will i have to pay for 2.2 on a 1g iPod touch? Again, Thanks for the help.
  2. ryanlusk

ryanlusk Banned

If you've already paid for 2.0 , no.
    Otherwise , yes.
  3. LovesToTouch

LovesToTouch New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Im not very educated on iPod firmware. Now i know on other devices like the psp theres allways edited firmware you can apply like the m33 firmwares for the psp. Do they have firmwares like this on the iPod touch? And How much is 2.0 firmware? I plan on buying some iTunes giftcards for some of the apps i allready know i want. So i'll probally just buy it with one of those.
  4. ryanlusk

ryanlusk Banned

You can jailbreak the firmware , to get hacked firmware.
    And it's 10 bucks , on the legal scale.
    And if you live in Canada , you can't buy apps with a card , just so you know.
    I don't know about firmware.
  5. Joe Rossignol

Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    You need to purchase the Firmware 2.0 update for $9.99 through iTunes, and all following updates such as 2.1 and 2.2 are free. I'll add on to what ryanlusk was saying by letting you know that you can't purchase this firmware update with an iTunes gift card if you live in Canada. You'll need to use a credit card.
  6. LovesToTouch

LovesToTouch New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Oh 10 bucks isn't bad at all. I live in the US so i should have no problem right?