Do I need more RAM?

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by eric_chaos, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I currently have 2GB RAM, under Windows Vista Home Premium x64.

    When i go the task manager, it says that i have no free RAM. Does this mean I need more? Or am I reading it wrong? I was thinking of upgrading to 4GB anyway.


    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. NumNum

    NumNum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Do you game a lot on the computer? If yes, then go for it, will make the computer a lot smoother.
  3. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is exactly the same, coincidence.
    Running Home premium x64 with 2GB ram.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I assume this isn't normal.
  4. sprint_user

    sprint_user New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Microsoft said once to get the "full vista experience" you need 4GB, but it depends, 2 should be good if you have a decent video card, maybe you should invest in 1GB more

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Well, if Im upgrading the RAM, I might as well go up to the max my mobo can take.
  6. Bazuny

    Bazuny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    What speed is you're ram? And I myself couldnt live without at the LEAST 4GB of ram.
  7. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    667mhz I believe
  8. deleted account 92

    deleted account 92 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,797
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'm gonna get more ram and a hard drive for my birthday. My computer is mad slow.
  9. dabomb1022

    dabomb1022 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,288
    Likes Received:
    34
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i have three gb ram on x86 windows vista with 20megs free so its about the same and i have one gb more
  10. Bazuny

    Bazuny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Im buying a new comp in a few weeks 1066 Mhz ram is gonna be so sexy!

Share This Page