Do i need BSD Subsystem when I have Cydia's _Fake_ BSD Subsystem?

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by sprint_user, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. sprint_user

    sprint_user New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    I have had Cydia for a while and it told me to get the _Fake_ BSD Subsytem. Do i need the real BSD Subsytem for some apps recieved from installer?? Should I get BSD Subsytem? please help!!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. ricardofelix95

    ricardofelix95 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    depends, if u installed cydia installer + Fake Bsd subsystem is fine, but if u just installet, ull get main executation in most apps, themes etc,
  3. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    were do you find the Fake Bsd subsystem? is it in installer or cydia?
  4. sprint_user

    sprint_user New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    Its found in installer under the name: Fake BSD Subsystem
  5. tian_kr

    tian_kr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    6
    so what differs between the Fake BSD and the regular?
  6. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I cant find it. What source is it on? I found cydia on bigboss. but no fake bsd.

    This is the problem I had last time I installed cydia. I couldnt install the things I wanted from installer without the fake bsd so I uninstalled cydia.

    I just need the source.
  7. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    If you have Cydia, there is no need for BSD subsystem, because Cydia installs it's own set of components, seperately.

    But most apps require BSD subsystem to be installed, because they wouldn't work without them. To make sure of this, before installing or running the application, it checks to see if you have BSD subsystem installed. If you don't, it will tell you to install it. Lots of the apps don't check to see if you have Cydia installed, though, which gets rid of the need to have BSD installed.

    So basically all that the Fake_BSD_Subsystem is, is something to trick applications into "thinking" that you have the real one installed. This way they won't give you an error, since it will seem like you have it installed. And it will of course work without it, since you have Cydia components installed.

    Hope I explained it well.
  8. sprint_user

    sprint_user New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,864
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    That was just what i was lokking for
  9. optimo

    optimo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    17
  10. ricardofelix95

    ricardofelix95 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    Fake bsd has nothing, its just tricks installer that u havr BSD SUBSYSTEM

Share This Page