Do I have to run Blackra1n everytime I connect to Mac?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mrbez, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. mrbez

    mrbez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi Guys,

    Sorry if this has been asked before.

    I just bought a 3G 32GB iPod Touch yesterday, it is on 3.1.2 and I jailbroke it with Blackra1n.

    Everything seems to run fine, but when I connect the iPod to my mac, it says something about my iPod being in recovery mode.

    If I run Blackra1n, it goes back to normal.

    Do I need to do this everytime I connect it to my PC?

    Thanks,

    C.
  2. ihax_ipt

    ihax_ipt Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    No, you have to run Blackra1n everytime you want to boot your device. It's called a tethered jailbreak.
  3. mrbez

    mrbez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Sorry mate,

    What exactly does that mean?

    So I do need to run Blackra1n every time I connect it to my Macbook?

    Is there any way around this?

    Thanks.
  4. Coca Cola

    Coca Cola Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
  5. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    No, only if you turn your iPod off, reboot your iPod or your iPod dies (basically any time you want to turn your iPod on), you'll need to run blackra1n. But if your iPod is already on and you just want to sync, you won't need to run blackra1n.
  6. mrbez

    mrbez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Okay so I only need to run it if the battery runs out, or if I turn the iPod off and back on again.

    Is there another way I can jailbrake the iPod so this doesn't happen? Ie with something else other than Blackra1n?

    Thanks for the help so far.
  7. Coca Cola

    Coca Cola Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Not at the moment.
  8. mrbez

    mrbez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Okay.

    So it is normal what is happening then?

    I've only used the jailbrake to get apps, what else does jailbraking do?

    Thanks Cola.
  9. Coca Cola

    Coca Cola Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    19
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Yes it is normal. Jailbreaking enables you to customize, modify and tweak your iPod touch.

Share This Page