Digitizer Port on logic board

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Hobo Ash, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. Hobo Ash

    Hobo Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Hey so i got a second hand 1st gen 8gb ipod touch off ebay. the digitizer didnt work, so i got a replacement. Now after inspection part of the digitizer connection (the end attached to the screen itself) had been snapped off into the port on the logic board. Ive picked it out but i think i may have damaged some of the pins. My question is are all the pins needed, does it have to be a perfect fit in the slot and is there anythin to clean the connector pins?


    Cheers Ash
  2. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    I would guess that the less pins you have, either the less sensitive the screen, or only certain parts may be responsive.

    As far as cleaning goes, id take a very thin swab, or some sort of 'soft needle' and use high-proof alcohol to wipe off the pins.
  3. Hobo Ash

    Hobo Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    ok cool and once id cleaned it do you think id need to restore the ipod for it to recognize the touch function again or not?
    oh and is there anyway to make a more secure fit for the digitzer connector and port, because it doesnt want to stay in there.
  4. Hobo Ash

    Hobo Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    sorry to bump this, but anyone else got suggestions?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. rawfuls

    rawfuls Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Have you tried just plugging it in and testing it?
    The ones I've fixed look less, but work fine.
  6. Hobo Ash

    Hobo Ash New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yer ive got the new digitizer plugged in to the port but when i try and unlock the ipod touch it doesnt slide across the screen

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ive tried restoring it to see if it wasnt recognising the touch function but that didnt work.

Share This Page