Different DFU mode entry for 4G? Cant enter

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by legendarytrainer, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. legendarytrainer

    legendarytrainer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Hey, so i was wondering if anyone has needed to use DFU mode yet, and i cannot seem to be able to get it into DFU mode. My comp wont recognize my iPod unless its in recovery mode so i recovered it but no i cant even set it up, as in it wont let me connect to itunes or my computer. has anyone been able tog et into DFU mode on the new touch?
  2. Matt_Maggots

    Matt_Maggots Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think there is a reason to put an iPod touch 4 into DFU mode yet. o.0
  3. picklejw

    picklejw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Well I can put my iPhone 4 into DFU mode so I don't see the diffrence with the iPod touch 4g
  4. Unregistered

    Unregistered Guest

    same problem here, need help
  5. lolmao

    lolmao Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    ive put mine into dfu,

    for jbing
  6. The StFu

    The StFu Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I had some problems, too. But then I was able to enter the DFU Mode.

    Power off the iPod touch.
    Hold Power + Home Button. When the screen is black, release the Power Button. Hold the Home Button for 10 seconds. After 10 seconds release it & it should in DFU Mode.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. eric780

    eric780 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    i think you just did it wrong

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. dAftY

    dAftY New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It has to be plugged in when you do the combo. It can't be changed as DFU is hardware.
  9. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    Well, I am assuming Apple didn't take this feature out... But it could have changed if Apple purposely took out the DFU mode out of the iPod before the release of the iPod Touch 4G. But since one person already did it, it's there... Do it again, download directions off the internet/forum.
  10. legendarytrainer

    legendarytrainer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Ok guys, what I think happened is that maybe Apple made it harder, like more precise timing to enter it, becasue i cant do it when I time myself (plugged in, i know how to do it) but i can do it with a program for jailbreaking. For instance yesterday I went to restore, so i plugged it in to limerain, started the program and followed the instructions and then just exit the program once it startted running the code so I could DFU restore through iTunes.

    This thread was obviously before any jailbreak was available for the new touch. Sorry for any confusion.

Share This Page