Differences between 1.1.4 JAILBREAK and 2.1 JAILBREAK?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by Nross666, Sep 14, 2008.

1. Nross666

Nross666 New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Hi guys I'm no newbie to jailbreaking, but I am to the 2.x. jailbreak. Basically i'd like to know common issues, problems ect. I've never used cydia before, only installer, so you may have to fill me in on that, sorry. What are the issues regarding installer apps (gpsPhone? summerboard? Customize? Are there special sources to add? Should I even install installer, and just stick with cydia? I remember hearing that 1.1.4 jailbroken apps dont work with the 2.0 firmware? (btw i'm on 2.1) Or was I misinformed? What apps are reccommended/work? How do add themes? I've bought some apps off app store, are there any problems transferring them?
    I'm sorry I don't know an awful lot, I held back upgrading to 2.1 slightly late, i think, so i'm not really up to date on everything happening on the 2.1 jailbreak scene. I know a lot about 1.1.4, so if you could relate it back to that it would be really helpful.

I'm really grateful if any of my questions are answered, but I would like as many as possible so this thread can be of use to other people besides me.

Thank you SO much to anyone who replies.
  2. jieo

jieo New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    ok there is really alot of issues with it (as far as i know... haven't had any problems with mine)

1. um customize isn't really necessary anymore since a new program came in .. winterboard (replaces both customize and summerboard.
    2. gpsphone works fine (i have it and its much better .. less lag)
    3. with the new jailbreaiking 2.1 you can add both cydia and installer (i suggest do both)
    4. cydia is becoming more and more stable then installer (it'll probably take a while before installer becomes FULLY stable
    5. 1.1.4 apps do work (its just the matter of it being ported to the 2.X FW)