Did I just brick my touch???

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by help!!!, Aug 19, 2008.

1. help!!!

help!!! New Member

OK, so I think I might have bricked my touch. GREAT!!!

First off, I am not very good with computers and electronic devices. So if you can help me, just keep in mind that you're talking to an idiot haha.

Anyways, I have an Ipod Touch 16GB. Last night I tried to upgrade to the new version 2.0. Everything went smoothly and the file back up was performed without a hitch. Then came the firmware update. I started the firmware update at midnight. It seemed to be taking awhile so I just went to bed. I checked my computer before heading to work (around 7:30) and it still had the rolling green going across the progress bar. So I decided to leave it alone and check it when I got back.

While at work I talked to a guy who knows a lot about these devices and he told me how to restart it in a recovery mode. So, I decided that if nothing had updated by the time I got home I would follow his instructions. Here is where my lack of knowledge comes in.

When I arrived to my house I saw that nothing had changed. No progress was made at all. So I decided to follow this guys instructions (which he emailed to me.) Unfortunately, before reading the instructions I disconnected the touch from my computer. Then, I went back to read his instructions. The first two instructions he gave me showed the way to properly disconnect the Ipod...Yea, I'm an idiot.

So basically here's my problem. I'm staring at my Ipod as it has the Apple icon in the middle and the little line circle rotating on the bottom right above the "home" button. If I try to re-connect it to my computer, nothing happens. Have I just turned my Touch into a paperweight? If not, how do I fix this?

Thanks in advance!
  2. RenegadeKrogan

RenegadeKrogan Banned

Enter DFU mode and restore. I will give you step by step instructions since you are eleectronically impared