iOS 3.1 Did I jailbreak 3.1.3 correctly?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Ivanwolf, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. Ivanwolf

    Ivanwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    So, I went about to jailbreak someone's 2G iPod Touch, MB model, 3.1.3 installed.

    I read up on the tutorial, and I have the correct 3.1.2 firmware. I used redsn0w 0.9.4 and ran the ispw through it, which it did read off as a correct file. I restored the iPod using iTunes and then proceeded to use redsn0w, following all instructions and only installing Cydia.

    Everything seemed to have worked properly. Cydia was installed on the second page of apps, however this is where I'm confused and need clarification:

    After jailbreaking, will the firmware version in General > About still read 3.1.3? Or, will it read 3.1.2? Until I hear from a friend for the wireless password, I have no other way of telling if Cydia will work and download.

    Thanks for any advice/help.
  2. lownslowneon

    lownslowneon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Pretty sure it'll still read 3.1.3... the only reason for 3.1.2 on your computer is for redsn0w to patch your 3.1.3. It won't do it targeting a 3.1.3 file though.
  3. User Name

    User Name Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    40
    My ipod says its on 3.1.3. And i am jailbroken on a 16GB 2G.

    Using Redsn0w
  4. Ivanwolf

    Ivanwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Okay, thanks a lot.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Is there a point to even use blackra1n as well?


    And, after doing this, it seems to me that the keyboard is extremely slow/laggy when searching in Cydia. Is this normal? (Keyboard on any other application, it runs smoothly.)
  5. User Name

    User Name Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    40
    It is for me too, I don't quite know why. I just live with it though..
  6. Ivanwolf

    Ivanwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well, something new has just happened. I installed afc2add and the iPod had to reboot. Now, it shut itself off and won't start up again. Every time I try to power it on, it shows the Apple icon then goes back off (black screen).
  7. b-mac 39

    b-mac 39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Plug it in to the computer. See what it does. Report back here.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. skratte

    skratte New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    you know there's no need to add afc2add when jailbreaking with redsn0w. it adds the afc 2 service unlike blackrain.
  9. b-mac 39

    b-mac 39 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,809
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Really? I didn't know that. Then again, I haven't used redsn0w in a LOOOOOOONG time.
  10. Ivanwolf

    Ivanwolf New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    That's weird, afc2add never showed up in the Manage tab. However, I just went around along the other way and was able to install 3.1.2 into his iPod with iTunes Restore function. Then, I just stuck in blackra1n and installed the files he needed. Worked perfectly.


    Side note: b-mac 39, I like your signature.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Mind if I use/quote that for my signature?

Share This Page