DFU without Home Button

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by jchaike, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. jchaike

    jchaike Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I have an iPod Touch 2G. The home button has just randomly stopped working today, and I would like to bring it back to the Apple store to get a new one, but I have verbose mode on my iPod enabled.

    I have tried to restore my iPod, but iTunes always gives me a 1604 error.

    I just need to get rid of the Verbose mode, and I can manually delete my jailbroken stuff, i just want to get rid of verbose =[
  2. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    You can't, DFU Mode must be entered by hardware. The only way I've ever heard mention of it otherwise would be a patched iBoot, which would require you to rewrite the NOR, which would require a restore of some sort or to boot a Ramdisk, which can't happen without DFU and the redsn0w patch.
  3. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Not going to happen.
  4. liammk

    liammk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    i feel very sorry for you, good luck.
  5. mitchell209

    mitchell209 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    8,024
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    it's not possible. Just don't turn it off.
  6. jchaike

    jchaike Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    i have to turn it off, to get out of an application =[

    but i cant turn it back on without it being connected to redtool so i can tell it to boot out of restore mode =/

    im so screwed ='[
  7. fckinfamous

    fckinfamous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    If your ipod's on and your itunes can read it, why not just restore like that?
  8. katking123

    katking123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i have this same problem cept mines with the sleep/wake im going to try to let the battery run out and bring it in to apple today ill tell you if anything happened

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page