DFU Mode Help!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Angelus1818, Jul 25, 2008.

1. Angelus1818

Angelus1818 New Member

Hello guys!!!

I have been doing alot of ggoleing and found out that you can downgrade 2.0 firmware to 1.1.4? First off is this true? lol sorry i'm a noob. Also I have uninstalled itunes and instyalled version 7.5 of itunes. This is what i'm supposed to do right? I am beyond confused but mainly here is my problem...

You need to get in what is called DFU mode for the process to work. I can't seem to do it. I follow the steps and I always ewnd up in recovery mode. This will not do. I really need help. How do I get in DFU mode? I thought you do this...

1: Turn on your ipod and go to your ipods home menu.

2: Then hold the home button and power button untill you get a black screen, keep holding both buttons for two seconds and then release the power button but continue to hold the home button.

3: when your computer recognizes your ipod release the home button. You should now be in DFU mode.

I do just that and i'm always in recovery mode!!! EVERY TIME!!! AHHH!!! It sucks!!!Please help me...How to downgrade 2.0 to 1.1.4 so I can jailbreak my ipod touch. thanks...really it means alot!!!
  2. Gman4354

Gman4354 Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    itunes sees it as recovery mode

1. Hold Power Button and turn off device
    2. Wait 5 seconds
    3. Hold Power + Home Button For 10 seconds
    4. Let go of power button but keep pressing the home button for 10 seconds
    5. itunes will open and say "your ipod is in recovery mode and you need to restore"

DFU mode is just a deeper type of restore
  3. Angelus1818

Angelus1818 New Member

Thank you so much for your reply!!! You have cleared things up. Also I toatlly forgot that you have to do Shift + Restore!!! DUH!!! I am so werid!!! lol thanks for help though...You rule!!!
  4. Joe Rossignol

Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
  5. Gman4354

Gman4354 Member