Deleted cydia - now I can't reinstall-host unreachable on all computers on my network

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by DizzyEwok, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. DizzyEwok

    DizzyEwok New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I'm on my iPod now, so i can't go into detail, but basically every device on my wifi network cannot connect to cache.saurik.com, but originally I thought it was just my iPod, so h uninstalled cydia, thinking I'd be able to ah reinstall it, but my computer can't connect either. Yes I've restarted my router, anything else I can do?
  2. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    well, seeing youre on a 3g, no. unless you have your ECID SHSH's backed up.
  3. DizzyEwok

    DizzyEwok New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Well surely you can all access cydia, so is there no way to fix whats wrong with mine?
  4. Appman

    Appman Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,034
    Likes Received:
    56
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    U could open the blackrain app and see if that can reinstall cydia.
  5. DizzyEwok

    DizzyEwok New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I tried, but u deleted blackrain, so I ran blackrain again but it dint install it??!
  6. Appman

    Appman Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,034
    Likes Received:
    56
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    no it wouldnt. unless u were jailbreaking for the first time.
  7. DizzyEwok

    DizzyEwok New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    So is there any other way to install cydia?
  8. Jarlath

    Jarlath Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Per other threads asking this question (one posted yesterday, no less), I suggest using redsn0w to reinstall Cydia, as it won't kill data.
  9. DizzyEwok

    DizzyEwok New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I know I could do that, but I fear I will get the same network errors as last time.
    Whenever I download something in Cydia, I get
    Cached Failure
    Host Unreachable

    I heard something about tracert, so i tried that, and my computer got to about 12 tries and then couldn't connect either ...?
  10. Jarlath

    Jarlath Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    If that happens, then see if you can borrow someone else's jailbroken iPod and connect it to your network to see if it's the router that's doing it - if so, then you need to check your router or internet settings on your connection. Usually, the issue you've described is NOT related to Cydia, at least not if you uninstalled the source and then reinstalled it. You could also restore your iPod to a fresh install and try jailbreaking again, if there's something odd about your Hosts file on the iPod.

Share This Page