Delegate

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by Blank6, May 2, 2010.

1. Blank6

Blank6 New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hey guys,
    I will give my question as an example: (not a real case)
    I have a traffic light and cars in my program, as a good OOP programmer I would like my cars to sign up at the traffic light as Objects who want to know that the light changed - delegates in short.

In C# I would create a delegate object for the traffic light, the cars would sign to that delegate, and when the time comes the delegate just signals everybody who signed up for it.

By what I read about Objective C, all you can do is add a "setObject" method in the traffic light, the cars will call this method and the method will save them aside in an NSMutableArray.
    When the time comes, it will run in a foreach loop and call a method in the car's object. "Traffic changed"

My question:
    C# conceals all this implementation, there is no such thing in Objective C?
  2. Axis

Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    have a look at NSNotificationCenter.

Any and all car objects can "sign up" for notifications, and the traffic light object can post a notification, without knowing exactly what objects are listening.
  3. Blank6

Blank6 New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Sounds like exactly what I need!
    I missed that on my search in the web, thanks[:
  4. SkylarEC

SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

5. Axis

Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I beg to differ.

The OP's question:
    I assume(d) that he was referring to
    By referring the OP to NSNotificationCenter, I answered his question. "My" solution is, virtually (and ignoring differences in the frameworks and languages), the same as what is described in the above quote.