Death of my Ipod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by 123qwesz, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. 123qwesz

    123qwesz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    Just 24 hours ago, I was watching Family guy on my Ipod touch. Everything played fine. Later on, there was an essential Update on the OpenSSh and sdl something which I upgraded.

    A few minutes back, I tried listening to my music on my ipod touch and the music was jerky and so forth. I thought maybe I would need another new set of headphones but when I tried that, audio was still as bad. The original headphones seemed to work on my laptop. When I tried to play Family Guy again, there was NO SOUND at all.

    Could anyone help me out?
  2. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    • Misleading material
    yea man it's the death of your ipod touch

    just restore it in itunes, and everything should be okay
  3. hotwater10

    hotwater10 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    26
    or just clear and resync if you dont want to lose all your jailbroken stuffz
  4. 123qwesz

    123qwesz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    I did everything. I restored to its FACTORY Settings and tried playing music.

    For instance, i tried play Viva La Vida By coldplay but only the background of the song plays. There wasn't anyone singing. (Mine isn't those karaoke version). By the way, my ipod touch is 1 year old.

    Help me out! I'm Really depressed right now...
  5. DarkFiend

    DarkFiend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Total Reset

    Hey,
    Maybe You Should Reset Your Ipod Totally So Put New Firmware On It
    And It Will Be Like New

    Here Are THe Steps:

    Download The FirmWare You Want
    ( Here Is A site WIth Some Firmwares For THe ipod TOuch http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/ ) ( normally the file will be Between 200Mb And 300Mb )

    Now Connect Your Touch To Your mac
    Go To The Ipod Tab
    Then Hold "Alt" And Press "Restore"
    Now Select The DOwnloaded Firmware
    Now Wait Untill THe Progress Is Done
    And THen FOllow The Steps On YOur Ipod


    Warning:
    Doing THis Will Erase All The Music From Your Ipod ( It Will Still Be In YOur Itunes SO YOu will have to re-Sync.)

    You WIll Also have to re-jailbreak it for your jail broken apps

    and all the apps you bought from the appstore and are not on your itunes will also be lost



    but your ipod will be as new

    if this doesn't work put it in the microwave and press start.





    Grts.DarkFiend
  6. 123qwesz

    123qwesz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)

    Woah, the microwave treatment, that's a little extreme isn't it? I tried to downgrade to 2.1 already, sound's still the same. Furthermore, I live in Singapore, I fear that once I were to return it, they won't replace it with a new one since the 2nd generation is only available...
  7. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    It may be a faulty headphone jack. I had close to the same problem as you did. I had to bring mine to the Apple store and get a new one.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. 123qwesz

    123qwesz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    I just checked my warranty and goddammit, I've already exceeded my Warranty by 5 days! Argh! Any Idea how much the repairs will cost and the duration of the repair?

    Oh by the way, will if I paid up for the repair or issue of the ipod touch, will it be 1st or 2nd gen?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. DarkFiend

    DarkFiend New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm

    Indeed But then it wouldn't only let the voice away should it ?
  10. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Well in my case one channel (side) of my headphone weren't working. So yes, it is possible.

Share This Page