Dead pixels

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mateo, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. mateo

    mateo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    This scared the sh*t out of me, and i was about to return it or watever i can do because of it
    I turned my ipod on one day to see i very small, pin sized blue dot on my screen
    it wouldnt go away no matter how many times i restarted it
    Eventually, though it faded away, like in a matter of 24 hours
    is this a freak event or has anyone else experienced this
    also once i was watching a video and all the colors became messed up
    sorta like inverted, this went away when i restarted it though.

    So has this happened to anyone else?
  2. Mindfield

    Mindfield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    7
    Inverted colours was a problem with Week 38 and 39 iPod Touches. I don't know what week yours was made (38s and 39s were generally sold around the end of September and into October) so I don't know if this applies, but it was a known issue.

    Stuck pixels unfortunately do happen with LCD screens. They can sometimes be "massaged" or "flashed" back to normal, but that doesn't always work. (I'm not sure if that works for dead pixels though, that's usually indicative of a dead transistor in the TFT layer) Most companies won't warrant devices unless there are a certain number of stuck or dead pixels. I don't know Apple's policy on that though.

    Dead pixels on new units are pretty rare though unless there is a material defect in the screen, but I'm sure it happens.
  3. gammada

    gammada New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to me and I do install a lot crap into it.

    Maybe your iPod is somehow defective.
  4. DerekVOF

    DerekVOF Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
  5. mateo

    mateo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    well its fine now
    it must have just been a stuck one and not a dead one
    hey
    does anyone know why i can't install oktoprep so i can upgrade to 1.1.2 and still have installer?
  6. Mindfield

    Mindfield New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    7
    If it gives you an error about being unable to execute the script, then you probably already have it installed. (It survives a shift-update -- that's its purpose -- so even after a shift-update it will throw an error if you try and install it again because it's already installed.)

Share This Page