DDR2 and DDR3, what more does it do?

Discussion in 'October 14, 2008 Event' started by hemispheric, Oct 14, 2008.

  1. hemispheric

    hemispheric New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    is there a big difference between the 2?
  2. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Yes. I am not completely sure on this, but I think it increases speed.
    RAM wise, not CPU-wise

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    (If that made any sense)

    One thing I am positive about is that there is a price difference between the two

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Higher clock speeds and lower voltages
  4. drkassassin

    drkassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    quick question wats better 2gb ddr3
    or 4gb ddr2??
  5. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Isn't the clock speed on RAM how fast it can read and write to and from the RAM or how fast it interacts with the CPU?
  6. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    It's how fast the RAM itself is working, which is why you can have CPU's with different FSB' using the same type of RAM.

    Now, on topic, DDR3 is not really necessary (yet), DDR2 RAM will do just fine for just about all software that exists right now. DDR3 is better than DDR2 in the fact that the buffer is twice as large as that of DDR2 RAM, meaning twice as much data can be read/written in the same time. Also, DDR3 has higher clock rates than DDR2 (xxxx Mhz).
  7. drkassassin

    drkassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    do u have any answer to the question i posed?
    i know u know ur fair share lol
  8. Abcmsaj

    Abcmsaj Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    122
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    Moving the topic on a bit:

    2.0 Ghz or 2.4 Ghz?

    I want it for Logic 8, PS, Internet and iWork / Microsoft 08.
  9. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Right now, I would go for maximum memory and not maximum speed. The max FSB on a 'normal' processor is either 800Mhz or 1066Mhz, and having faster RAM doesn't make much sense until you get to processors with at least 1333Mhz FSB. And of course you need a motherboard that supports DDR3.
  10. drkassassin

    drkassassin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    im talkin about in the new macbooks..i have 4 gb ddr2 laptop ram laying around..if i buy one..should i swap the 2gb for the 4 gb?

Share This Page