Data saved after firmware restore??

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by nicknowsky, Apr 17, 2009.

  1. nicknowsky

    nicknowsky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    How come after I re-jailbreak or restore with standard firmware there seems to be data saved on my ipOd? Example like when run the appstore or when I use mega4i it has my account info already saved like my username for iTunes. Should all cache and data be deleted when u do a firmware restore?? I like to start from scratch every so often I would assume ALL data is erased when I jailbreak or restore my iPod touch 2G
  2. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Are you trying to erase everything?

    If so, just do a DFU restore.

    On a side note, when Restoring the firmware, start it off as a new iPod, not a backup of it.
  3. nicknowsky

    nicknowsky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    I do a DFU restore that's the way to jailbreak ur iPod. That's what I'm asking how come when I restore with a jailbreak using quickfreedom there is always data still in my filesystem
  4. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hhmmm..... I'm not sure, because I don't know how QuickFreedom works. Sorry.

    If you really want to make sure everything is erased when jailbroken, start out by wiping your iPod clean via DFU, and then doing whatever you have to do with QuickFreedom.
    Just make sure if you use an IPSW that it is a fresh file.

Share This Page