Cydia Weird Behavior, Have i gotten a virus??

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Kr3w, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. Kr3w

    Kr3w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    well one day i was trying to remove "bossprefs" because i decided to replace it with "sbsettings" well when i tried to remove bossprefs and i went to modify, remove, then once i got to the confirmation it said in the modifications,

    Install - GBA Bios File

    Remove - BossPrefs


    it wouldnt work, so i del boss prefs through "winscp" it was gone from my springboard but when i looked in cydia it was still there in my packages, still cannot del it outta there... it it really deleting stuff off my ipod is it really freeing up space?? i cannot del anything from my packages i dowloaded


    now im trying to upgrade something and again it says in the confirmation


    Install - GBA Bios File

    Upgrade - SbSettings



    and after i did that at the end of dl the upgrade it said that the gba bios file was trying to overwrite my gba bios file i currently have...

    also i deleted my whole gba emulator to try n get that install gba bios file gone and it still didnt work, i deleted the emulator on winscp in my apps


    i dont understand it never did that before, did i get a virus from a gbs bios file???? can someone please help it would be greatly appreciated



    in fact everytime i try to download anything or del or upgrade n e thing it says in the modifications installing gba bios file along withing anything else im doin
  2. Kidchop

    Kidchop Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Try Icy, its getting better with every update. The only cons is that is does not show all packages and maybe needs a notification of updates but apart from that it is fast, no lag at all and convenient
  3. spacelord

    spacelord New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I had that same thing happen to me when I download the gba bios file and roms from irom repository.When I unistalled the bios file that fixed it and I re downloaded the bios from 123locker.
  4. Kr3w

    Kr3w New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i got my bios from 123locker and i cant uninstall the bios file, i even deleted it in WinSCP, but its still in cydia, and still will not let me install anything cuz of the bios keep reinstallin
  5. mohaas05

    mohaas05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    You don't have a virus. Cydia is just confused because the installed package list incorrectly reflects those you installed yourself. Icy relies on the same list so it won't be any improvement.
  6. JIMIneitor

    JIMIneitor Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    you can try restoring your ipod

    JK, youre screwed!! hahahaha
  7. monkeyheads3

    monkeyheads3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    you need to restore now!!!!!!!!!1

    dude that is a bad sign

    i got this and it deleted all of my apps

    had to restore
  8. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Sounds like you definitely need a restore to fix your problem. Remember to set it up as New Ipod.
  9. breakkdown

    breakkdown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    ........................

    right, restore...
  10. jlgm25

    jlgm25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    no. just no. Don't ever use icy. Its not worth it.

Share This Page