Cydia keeps closing on opening

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Dude!_4Realz?, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. Dude!_4Realz?

    Dude!_4Realz? Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Everytime i try to open Cydia it seems its going to load but then it just closes. Is there a way to fix or reinstall Cydia without jailbreaking again? I rebooted, resprung, refreshed and everything. Please help its been like this for a while

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. anniex423

    anniex423 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I have the same problem on my friend's iPhone. I believe it's because she tried to download a theme from Cydia and it didn't complete which is causing a collision in processes and causes Cydia to close instantly. I just can't access Cydia to delete the theme. SSH delete doesn't work cuz it won't uninstall it from the phone. I don't know if any of that info might sound familiar to you or help you figure out a solution...but it never hurts to try. Let me know if you find anything please? I've been working on fixing it for quite some time too...
  3. onyieff

    onyieff New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    so has anyone found the solution? becuz this is happening to me too...
  4. LR2

    LR2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    This same issue just started affecting my brother's iPhone and my iPhone. I think this is pretty widespread, hopefully saurik releases a fix soon.
  5. seanG

    seanG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    It was a problem with BigBoss's repo, run this command in mobileterminal:

    rm /var/lib/apt/lists/apt.bigboss*

    If you don't have mobileterminal or can't SSH, use a usb browser (iphone browser, i-funbox) and go to /var/lib/apt/lists/ and delete all of the apt.bigboss* files.

    Then restart Cydia and it'll work.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. Pasc

    Pasc New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    YEAH MAN ! that bigboss removal tip worked great ! THX xD

    I subscribed to your youtubechannel as a lil thank you.
  7. maclac

    maclac New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Perfect.

    Second time in about 2 weeks this has happened to my 3G. First time nothing fixed it (even got rid of all sources) and had to restore but this time this fix worked perfectly.

    Cheers

    Malc
  8. Rammunition

    Rammunition New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i haven't got mobileterminal or ssh. if by usb browser you mean via usb lead, nope doesn't work.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    don't worry, i've used iphone browser. it works!!
  9. himynameisjuan

    himynameisjuan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Man, I wish I would have seen this before I restored my iPod... oh well, a fresh start is good every once and a while.
  10. Harmony

    Harmony New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    fixed this by using mobile terminal on my iPod touch, to do it open terminal and type in :
    login
    then type :
    root
    put this password :
    alpine
    then type in :
    apt-get update

    let it do it's updating then tap the screen and press exit, then open up Cydia

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    this is useful if you can't access a pc right now

Share This Page