cydia is giving errors and will not show sources or packages

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by A Cheater117, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. A Cheater117

    A Cheater117 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    alright, i jailbroke my ipod and i am now having trouble with cydia im not that much of a noob but im getting error codes using cydia and now cydia says i have no packages or sources. this all started when i tried to add a source for roms and emulators. i need help, please only post if you have help, i dont need sympathy. most of the errors say things like failed to fetch, and could not find data in _________________ source, and error in database blah blah blah. please help
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    if any one wants to know the exact error codes send me a message or post
  2. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    go to manage in cydia and press recreate data base. that should bring sources back. or try deleting the sources now and re add them
  3. A Cheater117

    A Cheater117 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Where would that re-create database option. When i go to manage what should i go into, sources packages or storage. Im also getting a error that says i have no package header.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Also it says i have no sources, which i did, but they dissapeared.
  4. itzJake

    itzJake Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I had that problem all you have to do is go to ifile, /var/lib/apt/lists and delete everything EXCEPT the partial folder, when your done, reboot, open up cydia and poof it's working again.

    Or if you haven't got iFile, Try doing it with SSH and repeat where you have to go.

    That should work!
  5. A Cheater117

    A Cheater117 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    K ill try that i have deleted those files with i file but never knew i was supposed to reboot ill give that a try
  6. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    recreate data base is in manage>sources
  7. A Cheater117

    A Cheater117 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Naw the deleting files trick did not work, and j-phone when i open cydia up and go tho manage>sources there is nothing listed. Would un installing cydia and instaling it help/ how would i go abou doing this
  8. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    do you still have the blackra1n app?
  9. A Cheater117

    A Cheater117 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yes i do,and i have ifile
  10. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    alright download rock and then uninstall cydia from rock and then redownload cydia from blackra1n

Share This Page