Cydia Icon Not Showing Up

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by RaymondK8, Mar 19, 2010.

  1. RaymondK8

    RaymondK8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    This is an issue that I've had before when I was installing Rock.

    So after hearing the major issues of Rock and that I can use an app to boost the speed of Cydia, I decided to uninstall rock and re-install Cydia.

    I've installed Cydia via Blackra1n but the icon isn't showing up, thus saying that I've not installed Cydia at all.
    I had to wait 3-5 days before the Rock icon show up and I don't want to wait another 3-5 for my Cydia icon to show up so does anyone have a solution to this?

    Thanks in advance.

    EDIT: Just installed it again via Blackra1n and the icon still hasn't shown up.
  2. Fwission

    Fwission New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Okay turn your ipod off completely (Hold power button 10sec and slide to power off). Then turn you ipod on and follow these steps if the bold is true:

    A) I have SBSettings!
    1) Go to SBSettings and go to more
    2) Go to the hide Icons tab
    3) See if Cydia is 'off'
    IF OFFF
    4) Turn it on
    5) Reboot


    B) I have SSH/can SSH via USB
    1) Open iFile/any SSH client
    2) SSH to /applications
    3) See if Cydia is there
    4) If not you have an installation error

    C) I have Rockapp
    1) Check your pakages for Cydia
    2) Reinstall Cydia via pakages
    Cydia not in rock pakages
    3) Install from Rock

    D) Wait?
    1) Reboot ipod and wait...

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Whats that app that speeds up Cydia? Might wanna uninstall it and reinstall Cydia
  3. RaymondK8

    RaymondK8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The app to speed up Cydia is apparently called NOCyFresh.

    I'm not sure what it is exactly since I've just heard about it and thanks a ton for the help!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Fwission

    Fwission New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    aahh! NoCyFresh! I have that too. Yes, I need to know what version of this you have. Its been known to cause problems. I would get the package to safely remove NoCyFresh and then reinstall NoCyFresh once you have Cydia. Version 2.0 is the dangerous version that should be removed. Still unistall the current version even if its 1.0.3. As for what it does is every time Cydia loads it refreshes the repos which takes alot of time because it reloads data twice, even if your not connected to wifi. NoCyFresh removes that repo refresh and can be toggled in SBSettings. Note: Repos can be refreshed manually in the changes section under 'Refresh'.

    Are the steps working?
  5. RaymondK8

    RaymondK8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Oh, right... Well I just found another thing called Backgrounder... Have a search, apparently it can help you to run Cydia in the background so once you click on Cydia it'll load straight away.

    And the steps don't work

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Using SBSettings, it says that Cydia is on.
    I have no idea was SSH is and I uninstalled Rock so... I'm guessing that I'll have to wait.
  6. Fwission

    Fwission New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Thats too bad

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    As for backgrounder I have that. Very handy for some quick checks and all that but hard the the ram and battery. Its like keeping that app open so it drops your ram to 30mb. That means you can do almost anything but play games. BTW you should learn basic SSH its very easy and could come in handy. SSh allows you to access all of the ipods files. So with SSH you can add custom themes, custom sounds, fix problems and a whole lot more!
  7. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    can you see it in the search bar?
  8. RaymondK8

    RaymondK8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Nope, it doesn't show up when I'm searching for it.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I've read that having a 5 dock icon might be a problem... And that's exactly what I've got.
    OK, having no Installer on my iPod Touch, what can I do?

    Restore it?
    I don't really mind, I just want to know how I can restore it back to 3.1.2, instead of 3.1.3.

    EDIT: OK, I'm not going to restore it, because although I can save my apps, I don't know how to save my game saves.
    Looks like I'm just going to wait...

Share This Page