Cydia error -- "Error: POSIX: Operation timed out"

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Zerozx, Jan 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zerozx

    Zerozx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    At the top of Cydia after it's launched, you usually see on the bar where it reads "Downloading Packages," well it hangs on the "Downloading Packages" for a while longer than it usually does and then the POSIX error comes up.. "Error: POSIX: Operation timed out"

    I assumed it reads "Operation timed out," but I can only see "Operation time..."

    Anyway, today at school, I accidentally opened Cydia and wasn't connected to any WiFi, so the usual "unable to connect to network" or something similar to that came up. I simply closed out of it. Could this have caused something to go wrong? Cydia worked just fine yesterday...
  2. Josh21227

    Josh21227 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Google is helpful.

    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87549&page=2
  3. Zerozx

    Zerozx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Indeed it is, but I'm not that stupid. ;) I did a lot of searching before posting the question and saw the link you posted as well as a few other "explanations" and suggestions as to what should be done. Most of the explanations didn't apply to me, and my sources seem to be working...
  4. Zerozx

    Zerozx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Any ideas? still doing it.
  5. Zerozx

    Zerozx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Actually, now there's an error reading: "Error: NetDB: Open nodename"
  6. tw23

    tw23 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,622
    Likes Received:
    510
    try clearing your cache, cookies, and history in settings/safari, and then reboot.
  7. Zerozx

    Zerozx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Didn't work. Still doing the NetDB: Open nodename error
  8. Zink

    Zink Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    I saw this once, all I did was turn wifi off and on and it worked, worth a shot I guess.
  9. Zerozx

    Zerozx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I've done that multiple times just as I do every day, that's normal for me. :p Didn't help.
  10. tw23

    tw23 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,622
    Likes Received:
    510
    try reinstalling cydia. Follow my sig that says, "HOW TO UPDATE CYDIA WITHOUT 4.2.1."
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page