Customize the Customize App!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'iOS Themes and Customization' started by darkchicken50, Nov 7, 2007.

1. darkchicken50

darkchicken50 Member

For the file i made, email me at darkchicken50@gmail.com with the subject as customizecustomizer. Thanks

Okay, onto the post.
    I am just a newb, but fiddling around with all the plist files i could find led me to realise i could do things.... amazing things!(lol) Im sure to the disdain of the creator, i have edited my customize.app so that the springboard strings that you can edit directly from the touch are now available to be a fully inclusive list of ANY string from springboard.app that you want the freedom to edit...
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    http://a387.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/102/l_2765ffb4bee2bec40dc9abeb7eec7c7a.jpg

http://a7.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/72/l_0398e4ebda6511542fe84a00d7f98cbe.jpg
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Just as an example, if you look at the above pictures and compare it to your screen you may notice i have added a few more strings to edit.
    Of course some of you may find this useless, don't criticize me as i do this in my spare time and am simply offering my inventions to you guys (although im sure this has been done)

So, step by step heres what you do to put in the one available by above email address:
    Make sure you have ftp access to your ipod (duhhhh)
    Go to private/var/root/media_sym/applications/customize.app -- and go to the settings folder
    Replace the stringEditorViews.plist with my file (or email me and ill send you a guide on how to add as many strings as you want)
    Restart springboard (i.e, shut down ipod/change something in customize so it restarts for you)
    Open up your customize app to springboard strings and have a quick look for the new editable strings and go for your life!