Customize - Pissing me off, please help

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Tylerg123, Dec 4, 2007.

  1. Tylerg123

    Tylerg123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Ipod touch, I downloaded customize from a link on this forum, set everything to 755, did exactly what a guide told me to do. Ive looked over it 10 times, tapped the cow 100 times and nothing... am I missing something? please help before I break something

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    gah - after rebooting a few times and endless tries finally got it working ><
  2. FakePassword

    FakePassword New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think you have to tap the flaming chicken, not the cow.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Og Loc

    Og Loc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    wait whats ur problem u just cant open the customize app fully?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Bullet X Dodger

    Bullet X Dodger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing is happening to me...idk anything about a 755 but i can't get it to open.
  5. sangesf

    sangesf New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    2
    Um... if you noticed, he said, he did get it to work after he rebooted his ipot a few times.
  6. Joker

    Joker New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    u dont only have to download that file, you need to get it from installer, then replace it with the one you downloaded

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Hazed

    Hazed Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Well I have just updated my iPod Touch to firmware 1.1.2 and this is the method I used for installing and getting customize to work (After about 10 previous failed attempts using various versions).

    I first cleaned up all previous attempts I had made (Uninstalled via installer, and made sure the Customize.app folder was removed via WinSCP).

    Then I did the following:
    1. Open up Installer.app and find Customize. Yes it says it's for iPhone, ignore it and install it anyway.
    2. Close Installer.app, when it asks you to slide to unlock, do it.
    3. Do not touch anything else when you are on your SpringBoard. Immediately reboot your iPod Touch.
    4. Tap Customize on your SpringBoard, it will open, pause for about 20 seconds and close.
    5. Tap Customize again, this time continue tapping the screen, and it should load up. If so, your done, congratz!
    6. If it doesn't load second time, keep trying until it does, it will eventually load.

    For some reason people are telling you not to install the one from Installer.app, or to install it and then replace the files. There is absolutely no need, yes it contains iPhone specific stuff, but just ignore them. As for the icon ordering section, mine appears to have realised I am on an iPod and gave me the Music, Video and Pictures icons, rather than the single iPod icon.

    Works a treat

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. shegs

    shegs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope... even the detailed explanation isnt working for me...
    I have 1.1.2 and customize 1.8 and I get a picture of the spicy chicken for 5 seconds and then it crashes to springboard.
    hope this gets resolved soon
  9. Hazed

    Hazed Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Did you reboot after you installed it? And are you constantly tapping the chicken when it appears like I described? If so, how many times have you launched and tapped?
  10. WolfDV

    WolfDV New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    check if Notes and Launcher are installed . .

    i read a thread on another forum that this sometimes helps.

    I personally didn't have an issue with customize 1.18, but you could check that to see if it works

Share This Page