Customize app on iPod 2G (jailbroken)

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by lobosmike, Apr 1, 2009.

1. lobosmike

lobosmike New Member

HELP !

When i launch the Customize app and go to the theme browser I get a pop up that says:
    "Files no found. Customize could not find the required files to run offline. Go online and run Customize to update the files."

Aand when i try to download a new theme i get the same pop up.

i am new to jail breaking and the customize application
    what am i doing wrong or what am i not doing?

thanks in advance
  2. Zavonn

Zavonn New Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Well, it seems whoever's in charge of Customize isn't putting much time into it anymore. Customize used to be all the rage in the 1.1x firmwares, but now it's kinda phasing out, so if you really want custom themes and such, use Winterboard. At first it may seem like Customize has more flexibility and personalization, but by sshing into your ipod (/Library/Themes), you can mix and match icons/bundles/UI's from other themes (or create entirely new icons) and create your own custom theme.
  3. 42395_skyline

42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 6
    use winterboard. the only reason i use customize is to download what ever i want then i ssh into it and move whatever i downloaded into winterboard. then i delete customize. but customize doesnt even have anything good to download.
  4. lobosmike

lobosmike New Member

Gotcha
    Ive been doing some reading around and now know the whole customize situation...
    The only thing is that i would still like to be able to edit STRINGS through customize.
    a "Failed to save string" message will pop up when i attempt to save strings.
    Ive been reading post and what not and many people with the 2G are having the same problem. any suggestions?
  5. Zavonn

Zavonn New Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)