customize 2.1

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by xxsnoopxx, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. xxsnoopxx

    xxsnoopxx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i jailbroke my itouch to firmware 2.1 n whe i open customize it says "installing customize" but then it sends me back to my springboard. it kicks me out evrytime i open it
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    I have heard rumors Customize is about done. Just use Winterboard and saves yourself lots of trouble.
  3. Atl

    Atl New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Same thing happens to me. I just wanted to change some System Strings. I use Winterboard for the themes and whatnot.
  4. josexi

    josexi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya same thing here, does anyone have an older version?
  5. iPTF_BROWSER

    iPTF_BROWSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    HTC One
    I don't use customize anymore, it's a waste of space as far as I'm concerned. WinterBoard is simpler and is more compatible. Not to mention it saves a bundle of space!
  6. Jarlath

    Jarlath Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't use an older version with firmware 2.1 - it just doesn't work that way... and the SERVERS which it has to connect to often don't - connect, that is. You'd be better off sticking with WinterBoard at the moment - you can skin anything Customize did, and change system strings.
  7. Atl

    Atl New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Earlier today, it worked for me. I was allowed to change my Lock Screen. So either it's "fixed" or I was lucky. I wasn't able to get any themes or anything like that though.
  8. Jarlath

    Jarlath Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can change your lock screen to any saved themes already local on your iPod - but you can't get new ones... or update existing ones. If you try to update, it'll start the download, and then stop - which means when you try to apply that theme, there's nothing to apply... and it can screw up what graphics you have on the iPod in the process.

    WinterBoard, in contrast, doesn't overwrite those files - it just replaces the cached versions in memory, which means it's much safer to use. Plus, you can SSH themes in or get them from Cydia.
  9. Atl

    Atl New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    In my last post, I meant the "Slide to Unlock" system string. I use Winterboard for everything else.

    Sry 4 confuzin.
  10. iPTF_BROWSER

    iPTF_BROWSER Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    20
    Device:
    HTC One
    To change that you just go to
    /System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app/English.lproj and edit Springboard Strings and Change the AwAY_LOCK_LABEL to whatever.

Share This Page