Customize 2.0 themes from computer?

Discussion in 'Customize 2.0 Discussions' started by Greatnesss, Apr 25, 2008.

  1. Greatnesss

    Greatnesss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Is there any way to download customize 2.0 themes from a computer. some sites or maybe something like gopher which works with installer.
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Right now you have to use the Customize 2.0 app to do it. I have tried SSHing them in along with some other stuff with no luck.
  3. Tturner

    Tturner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    It takes work but its possible. Download a theme from within customize 2 then ssh into you phone/ipod and pull that theme out. There is a file for each application, just put the icon from your theme in there. For example if you want to change the mobilescrobbler icon, drag the icon you want into the mobilescrobbler folder and change the name to the one in the folder (ie if the .png file is mobilescrobbler1.png in the folder make sure your file is mobilescrobbler1.png exactly otherwise it won't work) SSH the folder back in and your done, I've done it before and can guarantee it works. Good luck!
  4. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Yes you can do that but what a pain in the ass!
  5. Tturner

    Tturner New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    I could not agree more with you, but if you are desperate, its an option.
  6. Opus Penguin

    Opus Penguin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had to use this method and it is a pain. I copied the OriginalBackup folder to the computer and renamed it to a theme I wanted to make. I put in all the icons I created into each of the appropriate folders and moved the new theme back to the ipod. I had to use the option in Customize that reads "Customize Images/Sounds" and then the "Application Icons" option to manually change each application icon. A big pain. Also, I cannot change all of the icons because the folders do not exist in the original list of folders. When I try to create the folder, and put an icon in there, it either doesn't show up as an option or I get the "Encountered an error copying the files" error. So Iam down to about three icons I cannot change. Otherwise I have my theme back.
  7. bones237

    bones237 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    @Opus Penguin,
    You should copy someone else's theme that u downloaded thru theme browser to ur computer to edit, not the OriginalBackup. I forgot what it was but there is something different about the OriginalBackup versus other themes downloaded from the browser.

    You cannot change the names of the folders or pngs inside. You have to name all ur images and folders exactly the same as the theme that ur editing.

    As far as adding icons for apps that don't exist in the theme, you can do this but it requires editing the SystemFilePaths.plist
  8. personman1

    personman1 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    4
    You can copy your OriginalBackup theme to your desktop, and change what you want. Rename it and fix the Info.plist.
  9. Greatnesss

    Greatnesss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I knew about this. i meant that can we download it from the computer and put it into customize folder instead of downloading the theme from customize.
  10. Opus Penguin

    Opus Penguin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found this file in the cache folder. Is this correct? I tried editing but the folders still don't show up. Am I editing the correct file in the correct location?

Share This Page