Custom Firmware not working.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by azz2811, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. azz2811

    azz2811 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    i used PwnageTool 3.1.4 to make a custom firmare for my iphone 3gs and when i go to restore my iPhone using itunes i select the firmware and it all goes through sweet untill its ment to reboot and be on the home screen (iPhone) but it just says connect to iTunes. So i do and now itunes says i have to restore it again. i have tried several times with the same results. What am i doing wrong?
  2. studangerous

    studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Difficult to pinpoint an issue there but I'd start off by recreating your custom ipsw and trying again.
  3. azz2811

    azz2811 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Okay thanks for that ill try that now
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    okay so now when i try to restore with itunes i get an error 1600? what to do now?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Okay so now I finally got it working using blackra1n but it's the teatherd jail break so now can I just update with the custom firmware?? Sorry for all of the posts being merged
  4. Alok

    Alok New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Whatever you do, your iPhone will still be tethered jailbroken.
  5. azz2811

    azz2811 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Ohh okay thanks for tha. I guess it's not anreal problem anyway.

    I noticed that when I have to reboot it and then run the "make it ra1n" thing to get it working again it resets the spring board layout. Is this normal?
  6. freemini

    freemini Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Well, if u use Blackra1n to boot, you should use blackra1in to jailbreak. It wasn't made to boot a custom firmware made by PwnageTool..
  7. azz2811

    azz2811 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    It's still the normal apple firmware becuase incould never get the custom one to go on the iPhone I would always get a 1600 error

Share This Page