Current Location Problem?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by PaulK0512, Nov 22, 2008.

  1. PaulK0512

    PaulK0512 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just updated my iPod to fw 2.2 and there seems 2 be a problem.


    On the MAP app, "Current Location" function doesn't work at all.

    it can't figure out my currnet location. I have no clue why.
    has anyone encountered this problem too?
  2. Baker5

    Baker5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,230
    Likes Received:
    40
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    many have because google maps either hasnt registered your adress or it just cant find the wifi youre using
  3. PaulK0512

    PaulK0512 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    e

    i don't think there is anything wrong with WiFi. I tried with my neighbor's WiFi. not working.
  4. Baker5

    Baker5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    3,230
    Likes Received:
    40
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (White)
    well then it may be your location the maps server might not have updated it so it cant find your location
  5. nadnerb33

    nadnerb33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I think there is an issue with Locate Me on 2.2 firmware.

    I know for a fact that my location is stored in the Skyhook database because I added it myself and it worked fine on 1.1.4/1.1.5 but stopped working when I updated to 2.2
  6. Honnegger

    Honnegger New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    It works for me in the App AroundMe, but it doesn't in Google Earth.
  7. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    It could be Wi-Fi or that you didn't set up current location in settings.
  8. nadnerb33

    nadnerb33 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Wifi is working as I just downloaded Google Earth.
    The location in the settings has nothing to do with the Locate Me feature, it's just for regional settings such as £/$/€ on the keyboard and dictionaries I guess.

    Pretty sure it's just broken in Google Earth/Maps or the Skyhook servers are down possibly.
    *edit*

    Looks like I was right, the Skyhook servers were probably down as it's working fine now.

Share This Page