Controlling other computers from one

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by J-Phone, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I was just wondering, i've recently became a Jr staff at my school and im helping run a technology class. They gave me a laptop so i can use with a projector but i was wondering if there was anything that i can use to see what my fellow students are doing. I sit in the front while my students computers back panel face me so i cant see it, when i walk back they close the windows. Any way for me to see what their doing from my laptop? And is there a way for me to do things on their computer from my laptop. Specs are dell laptop, windows xp and dell desktop windows xp.
  2. m0in

    m0in Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Nice specs, btw. Install some remote assistance software over lunch
  3. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Install some VNC program. RealVNC is supposed to be really nice.
  4. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    do i have to install vnc on every computer? btw all the computers are connect by LAN if that helps
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    ok i cant install vnc on my laptop, dont have admin privalages. any other ways?
  5. Oliver Barker

    Oliver Barker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    They used to use LanSchool at my old school, that was annoying but worked!
  6. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    yeah. its a school computer, so he needs to find a way around the installing block. our admins make us think they use ARDAgent (Apple Remote Desktop Agent), but they use the ExamView testing server to access our computer, because its running at all times. lol.
  7. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    so how do i go about doing it? even my teacher laptop doesnt have admin powers
  8. xitz your fearx

    xitz your fearx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You can use a VNC Portable Server, doesnt require installation.
  9. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    wouldnt that require a wirreless network tht the computers are connected to?
  10. xitz your fearx

    xitz your fearx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    The computers would just have to be connected to a network. You can connect to the VNC server with the Local IPs (ex. 192.168.1.100). To connect without a network would require new hardware (I think, I could be wrong)

Share This Page