Considering Upgrading to 3.0

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by Atrollincentralpark, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. Atrollincentralpark

    Atrollincentralpark New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded the new firmware (legally

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ) but am having second thoughts about upgrading to 3.0 as I have spent many hours meticulously making my jailbroken 2G iPod Touch perfect.

    If i backup my ipod in itunes, upgrade to 3.0, then downgrade to 2.2.1 again using my backup file, will all my jailbroken settings still be in place?

    Thanks!
  2. Sir Stig

    Sir Stig New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I'm afraid not.
  3. Legendairy

    Legendairy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I heard people say that restoring from a backup when upgrading to 3.0 keeps custom numerical battery, change of iPod name, etc.
  4. Ryan

    Ryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,129
    Likes Received:
    28
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Use APTBackup ... its in Cydia. It backs up your jailbroken cydia apps and then when you restore you can press restore in APTBackup and you get all your jailbroken things back

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. RainbowKT

    RainbowKT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    i used that earlier today it works perfectly
  6. Ari.

    Ari. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    i dont understand that...if you restore you lose aptbackup right? :/ sorry for going off topic
  7. RainbowKT

    RainbowKT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    apt backup links to your backup of your settings so when u restore and get cydia again u just reinstall aptbackup and press restore settings and there u go

Share This Page