Connect Automatically to hidden acces point.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by therock003, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. therock003

    therock003 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have set my access point on my router to be hidden, and each time i want to connect from my ipod2g or iphone3gs i need to punch in the SSID and password.

    That o fcourse is annoying. Is there a way to automatically connect to this AP when I'm in reach without having to go through that each time?

    For example on my laptop running Vista, i can do that even if the AP is not visible.

    How about on ipod/iphone?
  2. Anonymoose23

    Anonymoose23 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I don't think it is possible to do so. I have the same problem
  3. therock003

    therock003 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    That's annoying though! Why cant it support such a feature.

    That forces my to have my network visible at all times, or key-in the login details each time i want to connect, which both are a hassle.

    Seriously is there no 3rd party app that provdes some kind of ease to this situation?
  4. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    My network is hidden, an my iPt connects automatically. Should be the same for you guys?
  5. therock003

    therock003 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    So if you leave the house, and disconnect, after you return it will reconnect automatically while your network stays hidden?

    That's definitely not the case for me, since after i disconnect for whatever reason i ddescribed what needs to be done...
  6. TakenAppleDownAPeg

    TakenAppleDownAPeg Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    might be able to make a note with that info in it and copy pasta?
  7. therock003

    therock003 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Actually i justrealised that this only happens on my iphone 3gs. My ipod touch 2g locates the hidden network and does connect to it.

    Maybe it's a firmware 3 issue?
  8. Maxtcc

    Maxtcc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I ask you what is your firmware ?

    My iPod touch 3rd Gen 64gig, running 3.1.2
    It goes out with me everywhere, and logs into each hidden or non-hidden wifi that I wish. and does so automatically.
    DHCP is on.

    Does your ipod touch ever ask you to renew your lease with any of the other or your own wifi hotspots?

    When is the last time you synced your pod?

    Jailbroken?
  9. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    it's not an Ipod thing, it's a computer configuration thing on the side of the access point/wi-fi origin.
  10. therock003

    therock003 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    my ipod does work, my iphone doesnt in this situation.

    Iphone is 3gs fw 3.1.2

    How do you find out if DHCP is on? I have punched in some local ip settings there. Maybe this could be what's doing this?

    And no it hasnt asked me to renew any lease.

    I havent synched the iphone yet. I have tried a couple of times but there's nothing to synch so there's no poin for me doing that.

Share This Page