Computer Languages.

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by joeyhbaby, Jan 8, 2008.

1. joeyhbaby

joeyhbaby New Member

I'm really new at this. I'm sorry this question might seem really noobish, but I've been wondering about it for sometime now. I want to be able to create apps for the iPod Touch, I know that it will take a few months to be able to do, but I am willing to do that. What I'm wondering is what is the easiest computer language I should start to learn so that I can build up to C++. and how long did it take you guys to learn a computer language when you first started? Thanks.
  2. Scythal

Scythal New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    It depends on your background, really, and I think there is no real wrong way to start learning how to program (except maybe with Visual Basic...

Please Register or Log in to view images

) because it all boils down on getting used to manipulate a flow of instructions. However, there is something we call good practices, and some languages can help you build good programs faster than other languages which are more messy in nature (writing in Forth is very funny, but reading the program of someone else isn't, and there is no incentive to make it look clean).

A few years ago, I would have said Pascal was a good first language, but it's not commonly used anymore

Python is a pretty good way to start because it's interpreted, works on several platforms (Windows, Linux, ... even the iPod has a Python interpreter!), and has been designed with clarity in mind. It also is object-oriented. You can even build GUI applications with wxPython (or Qt). And you don't have yet to think at a lower level like in C, for example you can manipulate strings of characters easily.

If you feel like it, you can also directly start with C++ but like I said, it really depends on your background.