Computer/iTunes/ziphone can no longer see my Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by orkodan, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. orkodan

    orkodan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I jailbroke 1.1.4 using ziphone, then reinstalled the official 1.1.4 as the jailbreak didn't work properly but no the computer bleeps when it's plugged in but iTunes, Ziphone and any other program can't access it. iTunes throws up the error message "The iPod cannot be used because the required software isn't installed..."

    Well I've reinstalled iTunes it lots of times, completely deleted everything to do with iTunes and Quicktime then reinstalled it and still that same damn message.

    Can anyone please help me, I'm really stuck now with what to do
  2. robcoffee

    robcoffee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    6
    Suggest you try the manual DFU method given above
  3. orkodan

    orkodan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i could get it to be like that in iTunes there'd be no problem. All it says in iTunes is "The iPod cannot be used because the required software isn't installed..."
    Nothing else, no appearing in iTunes hence the problem
  4. orkodan

    orkodan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please please please can someone help me, I hate this
  5. ipod touch fan

    ipod touch fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    do this: Hold down the home and tthe power buttons at the same time (remember all of this has to be done whilr the device is connected to tthe itunes cable). Wait until the screen goes black. Keep holding. Once the apple logo appears. Release the power botton but keep holding the home buyyon until the "connect to itunes" logo appears. And presto. You have your device in DFU. Hope this works.

    REP Me.
    1 person likes this.
  6. orkodan

    orkodan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I not speaking English?When I get it into dfu mode or restore mode or whatever iTunes says it can't use it because the required software isn't installed but i've reinstalled itunes so many times now and even deleted everything to do with it and quicktime before reinstalling it.
  7. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    what version itunes do you have? you should have 7.6 or 7.5
  8. orkodan

    orkodan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had 7.6 but changed it to 7.5 to try that but I get the same message.

    I can't believe it, everything worked fine up until now, haven't done anything different to the computer either
  9. ipod touch fan

    ipod touch fan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    dude.. try what i said.. it has worked with everyone..
  10. orkodan

    orkodan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried what you suggested ages ago, iTunes just doesn't see it in dfu mode and when in normal mode it says "The iPod cannot be used because the required software isn't installed..."

Share This Page