Complete Wipe

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Elahrairah, Feb 23, 2008.

  1. Elahrairah

    Elahrairah Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am going to return my 16 gig touch as I purchased a 32 gig one...

    My question is: Does reloading the firmware really wipe the flash memory?

    I don't care if they "know" I used jailbreak, etc..

    I just don't want anyone to hack into it somehow and get bank account info, passwords, etc.

    What's the best method for ensuring no data is left behind?

    I was thinking of ssh and deleting everything, then loading a 16 gig file of random crap onto it, then reinstalling firmware....but is it nessesary?

    Thanks.
  2. parak33t

    parak33t New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you restore it, it should get rid of everything. It brings it back to factory specy, so that includes pw's and such.

Share This Page