complete noob needs help!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ideashappen, Apr 2, 2008.

1. ideashappen

ideashappen New Member

Hey Everyone as you can see this is my first post here on this forum site.
    I own an Ipod Touch 8 gb.
    It had firmware 1.1.3 when I got it in Feb.
    Today I tried to downgrade to 1.1.1 and now I am stuck in limbo!!!LOL
    All I have on the screen of my Ipod is a pic of the Itunes icon and under it a pic of my connector wire.
    I did the power button and home key series as stated somewhere on this forum, started Itunes ,pressed shift and restore ,told Itunes where to get the firmware and it started......then stopped.
    HMMMMM so I decided to try to restore my Ipod back to the original firmware and it gave me an unknown error,I think it was (1).
    So I decided to download ,again from here, the firmware for 1.1.2 and it gave me an unknown error (5).
    I am a member of another forum site unrelated to Ipod and it has been a huge help over the past 14 months I have been there and I even participate in answering questions and issues with regard to FTA satellite systems livefta dot ....( over 750 posts to date) so while I am new to Ipod hacking I am not new to hacking per say.
    I would appreciate any advice I could get.
    Thanks in advance,
    Ideashappen

Please Register or Log in to view images

Ps I forgot to mention I have Itunes v7619 on a pc running winxp pro.
  2. reason2breathe

reason2breathe New Member

Have you tried (while the connector cable is shown, and your ipod is plugged in) holding the power and home buttons for EXACTLY 10 seconds and then releasing the power button, but keeping hold of the home button? TIMING IS IMPORTANT. If you see the cable on the screen you have held it on for too long. All going well, after about 20 to 30 seconds of holding only the home button, the ipod should show up in itunes, and you should be able to restore to firmware 1.1.4.