Change SSH password

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by discjockct, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. discjockct

    discjockct New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    How can I change my SSH password on my JB 2.0 Touch?
  2. Ska8r411

    Ska8r411 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Not possible
  3. hashiriya

    hashiriya New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I simply SSH'd into my iPod via OS X terminal and after login I used the "passwd" command to change it.
  4. getisboy

    getisboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    using passwd will probably force you to restore (it did on 1.1.4)
  5. hashiriya

    hashiriya New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    dunno about that, but it worked fine here.

    2.0 JB via PWNAGE, then loaded OpenSSH via Cydia.
  6. Khamelion

    Khamelion New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    Of course it is possible. It was not possible for the installer. It works perfectly with Cydia.
    I don't know how exactly you can change it on a Windows Computer but on a mac just open "Terminal"
    then enter these commands
    "ssh root@youripodname"
    "alpine"
    Now you're logged in.
    Then
    "passwd"
    type new password twice
    Password changed

    You can also change your password with the mobile terminal
    The only difference is that you change the login to root.
    "login"
    "root"
    "alpine"
    now just do the same like above after "Now you're logged in"
  7. jatoskep

    jatoskep New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used passwd to change mine and have had no problems at all.
  8. FlipJonesy

    FlipJonesy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    that was because of BSD Subsystems, Cydia doesn't use that, so it that doesn't have that problem.

    You can download mobileterminal from cydia and change the password in there.

Share This Page