Change Safari Search Engine

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by iDakota, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. iDakota

    iDakota Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    16
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Is it possible to SSH and change your searcher on Safari?

    I don't want to use Google or Yahoo.
    I'd like to use another site.
    Has anyone tried this?


    I'm talking about the safari on iphone / ipod touch not computer.
  2. Aprosamurai

    Aprosamurai Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    It might be possible, I wouldn't know where to look for it, but I can probably bet there is a plist somewhere for it.

    I'll look for it for you and let you know if I can find it.
  3. iDakota

    iDakota Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    16
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Thanks, I am looking right now too.
    I've found:
    /private/var/mobile/Library

    a safari in there. Though nothing about search.

    /System/Library
    might have it though.
  4. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    i think if you go the address of the search engine on your iPod, a little pop up might pop out saying if you wanna make it your default.
    it does it with yahoo...
  5. iDakota

    iDakota Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    16
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)

    Um... DUH cause its YAHOO... it has that search built in, so it will ask for yahoo / google...

    Smart.
  6. elamre

    elamre Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    isnt it hardcoded? cuz it is in the main os(safari on the desktop pc)

Share This Page