iPhone 4 Cant Sync iPhone 4 IOS 4.1

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MacProo, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. MacProo

    MacProo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    I've got the iPhone 4 running IOS 4.1 and everything was running fine... apps, no problem with phone, itunes backed up and synced my iphone...
    Just recently (last couple of days)... when i plug my iphone into itunes to do my daily backup, it prompted me to "set up your iPhone" giving me options to "set up as new iphone" and "restore from backup" and those are my only two options

    When i plug in my iPad... everything runs smoothly ..no restoring required

    what caused this to happen??
    I have some important information stored on this phone and cannot setup as new or restore from a previous back up...

    How can i work around this?
    I've restarted my computer, and have restarted itunes and still nothing

    I've installed Tune Up recently... could that have caused it?
    I've deleted the app and emptied trash can and still nothing
  2. MacProo

    MacProo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    no one??
  3. viperGTS

    viperGTS Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    5
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    What version of iTunes are you on?
  4. MacProo

    MacProo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    the latest: 10.0.1


    i did update recently... could that have been the reason?
  5. xX-SicKsKiLZz-Xx

    xX-SicKsKiLZz-Xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    restore from your iphone backup, nothing AT ALL will be lost.
  6. xX-SicKsKiLZz-Xx

    xX-SicKsKiLZz-Xx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    unless its jailbroken...
  7. MacProo

    MacProo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    a) it is jailbroken
    b) my last backup was like 2 weeks ago and have information on it which i do need
  8. MacProo

    MacProo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i downloaded it (running OS X) and i got this error..http://grab.by/7cXg
    even tho it is clearly plugged in..
  9. Ryuzaki

    Ryuzaki Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Set up as new phone, nothing will happen, just uncheck all of the options.
  10. Bigray14719

    Bigray14719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    setup a new phone. You'll keep all your stuff, promise. and its much safer then restoring from a old backup, especially if you were previously jailbroken.

Share This Page