Can't SSH into my iPod :(

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by zimm069, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. zimm069

    zimm069 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't SSH into my iPod with WinSCP. Firmware 2.2 jailbroken with cydia and installer. I've installed open ssh and boss prefs, make sure my laptop and ipod are both in the same LAN... I'm doing EVERYTHING the tutorials show but doesn't work.

    Please HELP

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    reset your router
  3. pjbarnoy

    pjbarnoy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Are you sure you have the right IP address of your iPod? If you have SBSettings it should tell you right in that window what your "Wi-Fi IP Address" is. Otherwise, go to

    and your IP Address should be there.
  4. TheKKKiller

    TheKKKiller New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    From what I know about SSH and FTP's, you need to port forward. This is common on laptops and computers connected via WiFi.
    http://portforward.com/
  5. pjbarnoy

    pjbarnoy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I'm fairly sure you don't have to forward the port if it's within your own network.
  6. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Port forwarding is only needed if an application is accessing something outside of your LAN.
  7. zimm069

    zimm069 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everybody but I've already done all those things you said... including port forwarding and reset my router... and checked several times if the IP address was right. Doesn't work anyway...
  8. pjbarnoy

    pjbarnoy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    What's the error that you get? Can you copy it and paste it here?

    Are you sure you're using the right username and password to log in?
    Username: root
    Password: alpine
  9. r0b3rt_213

    r0b3rt_213 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    just use iphone tunnel suite then if its not working its the same you are just using a usb cable instead of wifi
  10. pjbarnoy

    pjbarnoy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    That's also an option if you really can't get SSH working. Haven't used it so I can't comment on it.

Share This Page