Cant SFTP into my ipod.

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Ol!ver, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've jailbroken my new ipod fine first time, but I'm hitting problems trying to install anything else. When I tr and connect to the ipid using either cuteftp or any other program, the connecton just times out. I've obviously checked the ip a few times and it's deffinately right.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
  2. vadimqwe

    vadimqwe New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    make sure u have a good connection, it happened to me too cuz i had 1 bar,
    and make sure the user name is root and pass is alpine
  3. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    As silly as this question may sound, are your computer and iPod on the same WiFi network?
  4. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, can browse the net fine.
  5. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0

    3 bars here - sat next to the router.
  6. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    And just to be sure, can you use SSH to get into your iPod?

    and one more thing to check, you have the correct user name (root) and password (alpine), correct?
  7. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't get into the ipod at all. I'm following the video on here :http://www.ifans.com/forums/showpost.php?p=31601&postcount=7
  8. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    If that's the case, then it sounds like your JailBreak didn't work out properly. I'd do a force restore (enter recovery mode) and start over.

    But don't take my word for it, please do get a second opinion: I'm tired and could easily be forgetting something very important.
  9. Ol!ver

    Ol!ver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used touchfree and everything seemed to go fine. What are the steps to do a forced restore?

    Am I better using a different method or use touchfree again?

    Cheer
  10. wildrice128

    wildrice128 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3

Share This Page