Can't restore iPad to 3.2 (already on 3.2)

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Oliver Barker, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. Oliver Barker

    Oliver Barker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Well everytime I try to restore my iPad after messing around in the Springboard.app iTunes tells me I can't because my device is not eligable for that particular build. How come!? I'm already on 3.2, i even tried adding "74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com" to my host file but that made no difference. What can I do? I really don't want to be stuck with 3.2.1. on it as I'm a massive jailbreaking fan.

    Any ideas?
  2. mikec1985

    mikec1985 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    I'm sure Apple stopped signing 3.2 so if you never backed up your SHSH blobs from 3.2 you can not downgrade but if you did save your SHSH you should be able to downgrade.
  3. Oliver Barker

    Oliver Barker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I did backup my SHSH blobs, it was the first thing I did when I first jailbroke it!
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Looks. I can access it in iTunes now but Springboard.app is not working at the moment, is there anyway for me to backup my SHSH again from remote access??
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I can sync it with iTunes at the moment, springboard.app won't open so its stuck at the apple logo. Is there anyway I can remotely backup my SHSH blobs while its still on 3.2?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Also just as a note, I am already on 3.2 per the topic title.
  4. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
  5. Oliver Barker

    Oliver Barker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I am a mac user, please do.
  6. bahamutspirit

    bahamutspirit New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    I have had this happen to me on my Macbook as well. For some unknown reason.

    If you have a Windows machine nearby, try it. Otherwise, try downgrading iTunes to 9.1.1.
  7. Oliver Barker

    Oliver Barker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Did you it fixed? Also can you upload your hosts file? I have a feeling mine might have been wrong. Once i get one that i know has worked i shall downgrade to iTunes 9.1.1 and try that.
  8. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    You dnt need to downgrade

    I did it with 9.2

    Open terminal and type "$ sudo nano Private/etc/hosts"

    Then wen ur prompted for ur password type it in aNd press enter

    At the bottom, u should see the original host code that goes to apple

    Just delete it, and put "74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com"

    Now to save it, press option & o(that's the "option button", and the letter "O")' and then press enter

    Now instead of contacting apple, it will contact cydia

    If it dsnt work let me know
  9. Oliver Barker

    Oliver Barker New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Ok, do I have to put it into DFU mode to restore?
  10. Jimboo

    Jimboo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    Yea dfu mode for sure

Share This Page