Can't remove bad user entered url from Cydia.

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by darkshadow, Jun 22, 2009.

  1. darkshadow

    darkshadow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    How can I do this on old versions it would still show up in the sources section but it does not do that anymore for some stupid reason. I tried editing the /etc/apt/sources.list file but apparently they decided to not use that file anymore.

    What can I do to remove that source I misspelled?
  2. litobro

    litobro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Perhaps it isn't there because it failed? If it isn't in the sources section Cydia will not search it.
  3. darkshadow

    darkshadow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    It is being used, every time I start Cydia I get a few popups about the bad URL. It specifically tells me the URL so I know what it is.

    When I ssh in and run "apt-get update" it also complains about said URL.
  4. duceduc

    duceduc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue of 'bad url' message. How I got my fixed was to do the following.

    SSh and goto private/etc/apt/sources.list d
    Open cydia.list
    Delete bad url entry
    Upload and refresh to test.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Nevermind above.

    As soon as you edited the source again in Cydia, the bad url comes back.
  5. jjmali

    jjmali New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Here is the Fix!!!

    You will fix it if you go to the file name cydia.list:
    private/etc/apt/sources.list.d/cydia.list

    Enjoy my friends
  6. darkshadow

    darkshadow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Thanks I got it to work by deleting /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cydia.list
  7. taxbax

    taxbax New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    its only a temporary fix, the problem returns when you add a new source. Any other ideas?
  8. markymark666

    markymark666 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    same problem here
    where are the user sources urls stored?
  9. markymark666

    markymark666 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    no new information?
  10. Wuzz Ranger

    Wuzz Ranger New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep I have the same issue. Funny, I thought I was the only one.

Share This Page